Unknown Problem Desperately Seeking Help - Flashing engine light

Hi! This is my first time ever posting on a forum - please forgive any unknown etiquette on my part. I have a 2015 Chevy Malibu LTZ 130+k miles with an undiagnosed issue(s) that is stumping the mechanics I take it to. My car starts and initially runs fine with the check engine light OFF. As I am driving I will feel slight vibrations in the steering wheel and gas pedal. As I continue to drive the vibration will continue and then my engine light will start to flash (from being off) and I will get an alert on my dashboard to check Stabilitrack. I will then turn off my traction control (I was told to by husband who has no idea what is actually going on), which will make the Stabilitrack alert go away. The check engine light continues to flash for another 10 seconds or so then turns itself off. All while I am driving. Once I turn my car back on (whether 10 seconds, 10 minutes or 10 hours), the check engine light is back off but the issue will repeat itself, usually at least once a drive. I am at a complete loss, my mechanics are at a loss and I would appreciate any insight, advice or tips.

A flashing Check Engine light indicates a major engine misfire is occurring, and continuing driving the vehicle while this is happening can cause major damage to the vehicle. This includes to the engine and catalytic converter(s).

So, what needs to be determined is what is causing the major engine misfire.

Until then , do not drive the vehicle.

Tester

3 Likes

Flashing light= misfire.
Mechanic sees no stored codes? Odd
What were his words? Hmm, that’s odd?
He said he can’t fix what he can’t see?

1 Like