Understanding buying terms and choosing SUV

Hi,

I am wishing to buy luxury SUV but do not want to cross $35000 in total. I recently started learning buying process so still I am understanding terms. I always bought used cars, so not much aware of all calculations of new car. Before going to dealers and get more confused, I want to do some homework in choosing my new SUV (within my budget) and understand, how much I will have to pay out of my pocket (total money inclusive all).

With my initial step, I narrowed down few cars :-
Audi Q3
Acura RDX
Mercedes Benz GLA
BMW X1
Lexus NX200t (Being new on, I am not getting much comparisons/reviews on internet, but Lexus is reliable brand)

If I check manufacturer websites, they say this car starting at $xx,xxx. I am comparing price between their prices and price mentioned on truecar.com and it is confusing.
Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class - TrueCar Estimate 32734 and manufacturer websites says “starting from 33300”.
BMW X1 - TrueCar Estimate 30155 and manufacturer websites says “starting from 31200”.
While Acura RDX is opposite. Truecar.com says 39715 and manufacturer websites says “starting at 35095”.

I will appreciate comments, which can help me to narrow down on my choices (or any other car, I should add in comparison) and understanding pricing.

Regards

Truecar is usually very close to the bottom price you might be able to get. For the cars that you have the MSRP higher, that is normal. Also look at invoice prices on truecar. On the RDX I think you are looking at the one with tech package with increases the price. Are you sure you are comparing apples to apples? I am getting very close to MSRP on the RDX in my zip which means they are popular and you won’t get much of a discount on them.

Yes, you are right. I was choosing tech package. Now RDX is also coming in budget :slight_smile: