Turbocharging then and now

Back in the 50s I was a shade tree mechanic and followed automobile engineering vociferously. The subject of supercharging always fascinated me but I noticed very few manufactures used it. I remember when the ultimate engine size per horsepower was a standard measure of engine design. The metric of 1 horsepower per 1 cubic inch was the ideal goal. What I remember is that supercharging was noisy, expensive to maintain and bound to shorten the engine life.
Now, many cars use turbo charging to increase horsepower and torque, yet no one mentions anything about long term effect on the carā€™s engine. What happened? Signed, Undercharged shadetree mechanic

Turbo cars have been available since the early 1960s. BMW offered one in 1974 and Saab offered them in the late 70s untill they were closed. Manufacturers offered a bunch in the 1980s to provide good hp and good mileage in the same engine. So that means there is a good 4 decades and multi millions of miles of experience with turbocharged street vehicles that easily last for 200,000 miles.

Additionally a number of manufacturers offer supercharged cars and have for 20 years. A buddy had a supercharged Pontiac 3800 v6 he ran for 350,000 miles before the engine wore out.

I personally put 113k on a turbo Saab, 75k on a turbo Ford and currently have a turbo Audi 2.0 4 cylinder with 30k. No worries, they work great!

Of course Studebaker had superchargers on the 57&58 Golden Hawks and 58 P-Hawks, of course the 289 was a very stout engine. Ford offered superchargers on 57 Y-Blocks. Then sStudebaker brought back superchargers available on all models in 1963.
Some card from the thirties had superchargers available.
As to engine wearā€”lubricants are much better now than back then.

Kaiser put a supercharger on the flathead Continental I-6 in 1955 because they didnā€™t have a V8 or the money to tool up for one.