Tuning/Upgrades for an Old Sorento?

Hi! This is my first post on this forum - it’s great to be here!

So I own a 2005 Kia Sorento EX with a standard 3.5L V6 engine, and as I’m relatively new to tuning and automotive upgrades, I was wondering if anybody has initial suggestions for squeezing out some extra performance, improving handling, or even just better cosmetics. In its current state, the car works fine - but Idk if it could be better. This might be a naive question, as some research revealed that these aren’t exactly popular cars to mess around with, but I’m just curious.

Thanks in advance!

There are going to be so few performance items for an old Kia Sorento it is not really worth the trouble . Your money will be better spent on suspension and tires . But even at that the handling will not improve much.

A Kia specific Forum might have someone who did something like this .

Edit: It is your money but I would not fall for those silly plug in things that are all over the web that are supposed to give more horsepower and fuel mileage . Also I consider the cold intake air contraptions to be a waste of money also.

4 Likes

I would be sure you are current on maintenance and repairs first. I think the timing belt is due every 60k, and it will kill the engine if it breaks. If everything is good, it’s really up to you. A modern head unit with Carplay/Android integration and a backup camera would be a nice upgrade.

1 Like

Engine-just stay on top of maintenance
Suspension- I bet the shocks and struts are pretty worn, putting on a set of quality parts could improve handling
Tires-what do you have on it now? They make a big difference.

3 Likes

I’ve got Dextero DHT2’s up front(replaced by walmart a while back), and some older Firestone Destination’s in the back which might be due for replacement soon. They’re holding up rn, though.