Transmission shift and reverse problem

Hyundai Accent 2000:, I have been driving w/ the engine light on for a few months, the codes said exhaust leak & speed sensor maybe 2 months ago.

Last night while driving home after being out for about 20 minutes, the car stays in first till I let go of the gas then bumps into second (This is a Automatic Transmission)… I get home and reverse does not engage? So I am guessing the speed sensor, I am going to check the engine code again tomorrow, My mechanic skills are very limited two weeks ago I put in a new Alternator and the week before that a Garage changed my Timing belt and all belts… So, I am reading about a “Pules Generator” also somehow being associated, should this if defective also appear in the code? Should I buy the sensor online or at a dealers? The Hyundai I own had a new engine put in which is a 1.6, normally my car would be a 1.5.

Thanks

Kevin

Kevin…

Start with the basics first…
Did you check the auto tranny fluid level ?
Did you read in the owners’ manual the correct procedure on how to do that? (hint: it’s not just a simple “pull the dipstick” procedure)

With the engine change and the speed sensor code, things could get complicated…Before you buy a speed sensor, you need to learn its location and how difficult it is to replace it…Without input from this sensor, the transmission will get very confused…

I ran the car for 10 minutes till warm and the
transmission oil falls between the two dots that say warm,
about 1/4 of the way up to the top dot like this:

–*--------

Thanks Kevin

At the local parts store they said try
some type of transmission additive.
Because of the discrepancy w/ the
"check engine" gauge it seems to
me it would be electrical in nature.
This is from what I know, very limited

Thank You
Caddyman

Plus, don’t try an additive or you may regret it.

Thanks Caddyman, that makes sense, easy ways out usually for me end in disaster