To sell or Not to sell

I have a 2001 Ford Taurus SEL that needs the breaks replaced. I hate this car, I inherited it from my g-mom and the thought of puting money into it makes me cringe. I’m a librarian which means I make about 30,000 a year, no family of my own…still very broke. Money is the most important issue here. Although I hate this car…yes hate…I will continue to drive it if it makes economic sense. it has 80,000 miles on it and is in OK shape. I want a smaller tighter car that is reliable…and cheap…I’m only interested in used cars (obviously) what about an older Volvo…amenties mean very little to me just reliable and economic. The question is do I sell the Taurus and under what pretense would this make economic sense, and what kind of car should I look for.

Thanks,

-Will

29 Lexington, Ky

You do know the history of the Ford Taurus. Brake work on any car is normal maintenance. Any used car you buy will need some maintenance or repair. It would seem to me that it makes the most economic sense to keep the Ford. The Ford Taurus is a common car and most parts are readily available and cost less than parts for Volvo’s.

Yes, fix the brakes on the Taurus, drive it while you save up money for its replacement. Do not get a Volvo, it fits none of your needs. Get a copy of the Consumer Reports buyers guide, lots of info.

Volvo? You want to write a check for $1,000 every time your car goes to the dealer?

If you want reliable and economic, think small Honda or Toyota or Chevy or Ford or Nissan; nothing Swedish, Italian, German, British, etc…

I think if you bought a used Volvo cheap(you didn’t mention a budget), you’d probably learn to LOVE the Taurus

I’m in the education field and for many years I really had to watch my expenses. This meant that I drove used cars that were serviceable but that weren’'t my first choice. Here is what I did:
1. Kept up the maintenance so that the car was reliable and in good repair.