Volvo S40 Reliability

Hey everyone,

I have a question. I’m currently a college student, and am in the market for a used car, somewhere between $5-$6K. I’ve been investigating a lot of different options and car postings listed on various websites. I’m hoping to get a good, reliable car that I won’t have to spend too much money on to maintain and to fix if any repairs are needed, and that won’t depreciate too much so that I can build some equity in it. Naturally I’ve been looking at Toyotas, Hyundais, Hondas, and other Japanese models.

Although I am looking for a reliable car, obviously it’d still be nice if I could swing getting something that’s fun to drive as well. I had a friend recommend to me getting a Volvo S40. He said that they’re pretty reliable, as well as being relatively nice cars for the cost. I did a lot of internet research, and what I’m finding from what people are saying is that they ARE pretty reliable, but when you have to get them fixed, it’s much more expensive than other brands.

My question is, is that the case only because these people are going to dealerships? If a repair was needed and I took it to a simple car repair shop instead of to a Volvo dealership, would it still be more expensive? Would I still be paying a lot more to maintain a 2005 Volvo 240 than a 2006 Toyota Corolla?

Any other advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

They’re no better than average on reliability, and safety rating is pretty low. Not what I’d recommend. If I was looking for fun at that price, maybe a Mazda 3.

Generally speaking, european cars are among the less reliable cars. And if you need service, it’s going to hurt

Depending on the repairs/service needed, a decent independent shop could do the job

Personally, I believe you’ll pay a lot more . . . over time . . . to maintain a 2005 Volvo, versus a 2005 Toyota