To rebuild 2007 Toyota Camry Hybrid Engine or Buy New

I went for my usual oil change only to be told I have an oil leak in five places. The mechanics spent an hour trying to find where the leaks were coming from. Finally they said I’d just have to baby the car until the piston shoots through the engine and I break down on the side of the road. Then I should have my car towed to them so they can find where the leaks are coming from.

I’d like to not let it get to that point. Should I rebuild the engine or buy a new engine since they can’t find the leaks? How much does it cost to rebuild a Camry hybrid engine or buy a new Camry hybrid engine? I’m not a mechanic but I would think if the oil is leaking in five places they should be able to find the one of the five places at least. Any suggestions anybody?

Find another mechanic. This is total crock.

First off…if you do have a leak…that doesn’t mean it’s going to destroy your engine. Second…any decent mechanic should be able to find the leaks.

Id’ RUN from this guy.

Talk to everyone you know and see who they use to fix their cars. After a while, you will have a short list of multiple good references. Contact them and see if they are willing to look at the engine. You can also try a Toyota dealer.

This mechanic is using scare tactics on you. check your dip stick everytime you gas up and if you are not seeing the oil level drop, then you are not leaking enough oil to worry about.

cont

Do NOT rebuild the engine at this time, if you do have a serious leak, i.e. having to add a quart of oil every 500 miles or less, then get a competent mechanic to look at it. a competent mechanic won’t have any problem finding the leak.

If you do have a leak, chances are it will be something easy to find and cheap to fix, like an oil pressure sending unit or valve cover gasket. Worse case would be a front oil seal.

Has the oil level or oil pressure ever gotten really low? Has it ever seriously overheated?