Tires for Mazda SUV

Hello, new member here with a question about tires for my Mazda Tribute SUV. The manual calls for a P235/7016 with a 104T load rating…how would ride and performance be affected if I used the same size tire, but with a 103T rating? I do not use the car for heavy hauling, like pulling a trailer or carrying a ton of stuff - it’s just for driving around town and the occasional fishing trip to the local pier.
Thank you.

number
103 has a load rating of 1929 lbs
104 has a load rating of 1984 lbs

Letter
R speed rating 106 mph
S speed rating 112 mph
T speed rating 118 mph

As long as you keep it under 100 mph and don’t carry much weight you should be ok. but I’m not a tire expert.

This is where we need @CapriRacer our resident tire expert

It_s-Me is correct in the information.
But the question is why are you considering a (slightly) lower load rating?
I would not go with less than what is specified by the vehicle manufacturer.

3 Likes

+1
Additionally, many tire shops would refuse to install tires with a lower load rating.

2 Likes

First, there is no such thing as a P235/70R16 103T. P235/70R16’s only come in 104 Load Index (SL) and 107 Load Index (XL).

To complete the picture: 235/70R16’s (No “P”) come in 106 and 109 Load Index. - and apparently BFG makes an LT235/70R16 104/101 Load Index (but that is a whole different animal.)

So assuming you got the 103T part wrong, and it’s really 106T, there is more difference between make/model of tires than between tires with different Load Indices. You need to decide what things are important to you and choose carefully.

8 Likes

@bushd57_179423 If you have a tire shop that you feel comfortable with or has good rating on your local web review sites then tell then just what you want the tires to do.

It also sounds like you could do with a lower cost tire of the proper size.