Tire speed from axle

Tom & Ray recently answered a question about a blow tires on a 2005 Vibe after spinning in snow. Part of the answer stated that the tire speed was double the speedometer indicated speed due to the average axle speed (If speed shows 60, but only one tire is spinning, then actual was 120).

I am not an Vibe expert, but I find this hard to believe! In the old days, speed was based of the transmission output (cable at rear of transmission led directly to speedometer). I suspect in newer cars the speed is either calculate from electronic data from the transmission, or a combination of the engine data and transmission. I have never seen sensors on axles for speeds (not counting ABS sensor, but I don’t think they are use to dispaly speeds)

Are you certain that the speed shown on speedometer is average of axle(s)??? I really doubt it.

If you lock one wheel so it doesn’t spin, then the other wheel goes double speed, that’s the way differential gears work. So, the wheel that’s free to spin will spin at double the mph that the speedometer indicates if the speedometer is driven off the transmission output shaft.
Next time your car is on a lift, turn one of the drive wheels, the other one will turn in the opposite direction if the transmission is in gear or in park not allowing the driveshaft to rotate. One wheel turning forward while the other is turning backwards equals a zero average.

Well put. I was getting ready to say something to this effect.

sorry, i still don’t buy it. see http://auto.howstuffworks.com/differential2.htm and http://auto.howstuffworks.com/differential4.htm

The ring gear in the differential turns at the same speed whether one wheel ‘slips’ as in making turns, or if slipping in snow or whether driving straight with both wheels are turning, at a set engine rpm and particular transmission gear. So the speed indicated with the speedometer is not averaged between the axles!