Tire noise after getting alignment

Hello,

I went and got an alignment and my tires were rotated and after I started driving it for a little I heard the noise of the tires. There is one stipulation here: I was cut off while driving around 40mph and had to slam on my brakes for about 3 seconds (two days after getting the alignment and don’t remember if the noise was there before - I also hadn’t driven the car fast though), so I’m unsure if this is part of the noise. But, it’s one week later and when I’m driving over ~20+, the noise just gets to be louder.

The best way to explain it is that I can hear what would seem is the tires simply running on the ground and it just gets louder as I drive faster and dimmer as I drive slower. The tires have about 15k on them and are rated for 140k, and I’ve rotated them a few times before.

Can I get any help? I feel like I want to call up the garage and tell them this, but I don’t want to get worked over as I’m still a college student and know basically nothing about cars.

Also, my car is a 2005 Volvo XC70 with around 140k on the odometer.

Thanks!

What type or noise is it? A “running on the ground noise”? Can you describe that a little better? Sizzling bacon? A high pitch roar? Low pitch roar? Growl? Whooshshshsh? Which?

This car has ABS as standard, so you should not have skidded a tire and flat-spotted it. That would make a thump-thump-thump type noise.

Oh, and what is “rated for 140k” 140,000 what? miles? No, not possible, no one makes such a tire, wouldn’t matter for noise. MPH? OK, sure, between H and V speed rated, doesn’t really matter for noise either.

All this may not matter at all. An alignment can create a minor noise that will go away as the tire wears-in to the new alignment and the new position after the rotation. If it gets worse, take it back to the alignment shop, you likely have a problem.