Thinking about buying a 2008 Smart ForTwo

Transmission issues? I’ve read everything from “no problems” to catastrophic failures. Trying to make a purchase decision. Thanks!

You really want to buy a 10 year old vehicle that is no longer sold in the US if that is where you are. It was overpriced , needed premium fuel and did not get near the fuel economy it should have . And yes , the transmission was really not very good.

3 Likes

Yeah. Unless you’re just in love with the body style or something, pass. It was not an impressive car by any stretch.

Those cars had two functions:
An eye-catching shape so they made good billboards for your company logo.
You could park two of them in one parking spot if you backed up to the curb in a parallel spot.
I have no personal experience with how long the transmissions lasted, but they felt horrible when they shifted.

A friend of mine has one.

It’s given them a lot of problems. They’re looking to trade in theirs in the near future,

One of those “RUN AWAY” used cars. Lots of better options out there.

I think the $2000 plus computers were a problem too. Maybe if you could get a warranty . . .

Even then. I’m not interested in owning any car where the wheels are designed to self-destruct as part of the crumple zone.