The right way to come to a stop in a manual transmission vehicle

I’m a new manual transmission driver. I didn’t learn from a school - I learned from a friend. While I’m not stalling out much anymore and I’ve mostly gotten the hang of being at a stoplight on a hill, there is still one question that lingers: what is the proper way to come to a full stop in a manual transmission car?

My friend (A) originally taught me that you put the car into neutral and use only the brake, but a different friend (B) said that you always want the car to be in gear while stopping (especially in the winter on slippery roads), so I should leave the car in gear, but put the clutch in while braking. Yet more confusing was when I was riding in a taxi, I paid attention to how the taxi driver did it and he left it in gear while coming to a stop and only put the clutch in right before the stop, at which point he put the car into 1st while waiting.

My question is, which one of these is the best option? I do live in a cold part of the country and so I also have safety on slippery roads in mind. Also, is one of the ways listed above better or worse for your clutch?

When I anticipate a stop I leave the car in whatever gear it’s in until I MUST shift into neutral and come to a stop. If the stop will be momentary, I shift directly into first gear and proceed…If the stop will be for more than 10 seconds, then shift into neutral and release the clutch. Your cab drivers technique is called “riding the clutch” and will eventually wear out the throw-out bearing. (Very few cabs have stick shifts) Never use your clutch to create a false neutral…Never rest your foot on the clutch pedal…

Push in the clutch when the engine starts to quit just as the car is slowing to a standstill.

Your cab drivers technique is called “riding the clutch” and will eventually wear out the throw-out bearing. Never use your clutch to create a false neutral.

Are you describing the taxi driver or friend B?