The first car I'll ever buy

So I’m new to the whole car buying thing, this is the first time I’ve ever bought a car for myself. I currently own a Volvo wagon 240 1991 and I think I want something similar, but I want to hear about other peoples opinions about what they think will be a good car/buy. I want four wheel drive, a wagon and I want it to last. Currently I’m looking at a 2001 Volvo V70 XC. your thoughts are greatly appreciated thanks.

Don’t do it. See these replies to someone else who asked the same question:

http://community.cartalk.com/posts/list/2201007.page

Get yourself a Subaru. The Volvo will be a nightmare.

So Trust Me, If You Want A Car To Last, Start With Something Considerably Newer Than 10 Or 11 Years Old. Save Up For A While To Make It Happen, If Necessary.

A car that old has already lasted.

CSA

My only thing is that my volvo now doesnt cost that much in repairs per year and is quite cheep to keep up and its a 1991 is it a year thing?

Big difference between your old 240 and the V70, both in terms of cost and reliability. That’s how a lot of older Volvo owners get burned. They think, hey, my old 240 was great, why not upgrade to a newer V70 (or whatever)? Then they have huge repair bills on the V70 and vow never to buy a Volvo again.

Do yourself a favor and make the 240 the last Volvo you ever own.

from '91 to '01 Volvo put lots of fancy and expensive to repair stuff on the V70XC wagon that didn’t come on the '91 240. AWD, turbo charger, ABS brakes, traction control, computer controls, yadda yadda. Trust me the V70XC is very expensive to own and repair. I owned a '98 and a '00 and speak from experience. $2,000 a year is not going to cover the repair costs of a '01 V70XC if you keep it for 5+ years.

Invest in the car edition of Consumer Reports…and read it.

Talk to Irv.

Twotone

So if the volvo is the wrong buy what car should i be looking in to.

Toyota,Honda,Subaru. ect ect

“Get yourself a Subaru. The Volvo will be a nightmare.”