The best and the worst drivers

… by state, as compiled by an insurance-centric website.
Let the bickering begin!
:wink:

For years ive heard that “New Jersey drivers are the worst in the country”. I am now happy to be able to refute those remarks with actual data. We’re not even in the worst 25.

1 Like

I’d think Florida should be HIGHER on the worst list!

I have never seen so many reports of hit-and-runs on pedestrians, bikers and motorcyclists in any state I lived or visited! I sold my motorcycle because of these crazies!

1 Like

Can’t speak to other states but I have a lot of Calif driving experience of course, and some in Utah. IMO Utah drivers if anything are better than Calif drivers. Problem in Utah isn’t the driver’s so much but the roads. Not as well-designed & maintained for safety compared to Calif roads.

As far as Calif drivers go, politeness and courtesy-wise, things are definitely on the decline, especially noticed over the past 5-10 years. Rude-driving behavior leads to accidents imo. In early 80’s if a pedestrian were waiting at cross-walk to cross the street, nearly every car passing by would come to a complete stop and allow pedestrian to cross . Now, lucky if cars even slow down.

Not doing a studious look at the study, it seems that the results can be skewed by enforcement actions. More tickets yields a poorer rating.

I will say though as anecdotal that many Iowa drivers stay in the left lane when they get to Minnesota. What are they afraid of? In Wisconsin depends on the road. Some you can get pulled over for a couple miles over and other you’ll be run over for not driving 80. Of course Indiana with separate truck speeds just causes endless lane changes risking accidents. In South Dakota people seem perfectly able to safely drive 80. A long way to go and a short time to get there. Maybe they had separate figures for rural vs. urban conditions which can make a big difference.