The Best 70's Car Ever

So my son is 18, 6’4" with side-burns…yes he’s a 70’s freak. He’s an artist, and could walk right onto the set of Starsky and Hutch as their hip artist buddy. We need to buy him a car, so if it matches his persona and vocation all the better…

A lime green FIAT would do the trick

I would suggest a 1970 VW beetle with a Beetle Board on it, or maybe a VW camper bus with lots of flowers painted on it.

Although these may not qualify as the “best” cars from the 1970’s, I can imagine him in the following:

1. A red Ford Torino with wide white stripes down the side
  2. A black Trans Am like Burt Reynolds drove in Smokey and the Bandit
  3. A Mustang II (Cobra II) similar to the car in the TV show Charlie’s Angels

AMC Pacer, like the one in the movie “Oh God”.

Him being a new driver I wouldn’t get anything too small or flimsy or overpowered. Keep in mind the level of safety equipment in '70s era cars.

I’d recommend a '70-76 Dodge Dart coupe or sedan with the “slant 6” engine.

I wouldn’t worry too much about finding a 70’s car that’s overpowered. Most anything past 1972 is going to be saddled with emissions equipment and low compression engines. Most big block V8’s of that era barely produced over 200 HP. It was rare to see a 6 cylinder engine with more than a 120 HP or small V8 with more than 140 HP. plus the cars were heavy due to new safety standards. If you look at road tests or the mid to late C3 corvettes, you will see 0-60 runs of over 8 seconds and 16 second quarter mile times. Most 4 cylinder family sedans can equal or best that today.

200 HP might be too much for a car with skimpy brakes and a pillow soft suspension. Plus the kid wants some $$ left over for art supplies.

The greatest 70’s Car would be…

Proof!

So what kind of car does HE like?