Teen Driver Rant

I have to go on a rant about this. But first let me tell you about myself. I am a teen driver, as of right now I’m 18. I drive my parents older '02 accord. I do nearly all the repairs/maintenance myself. I have kept the car 100% original, without all the stupid “mods” to make it sound “better” or look any “cooler.” Now for the rant. I absolutely HATE it when I see someone who has taken an average family car, and “riced” it up with a loud obnoxious muffler, aka “fart can” (or lack thereof), and all around tinted windows (which is illegal around me). They then think that all the mods make them look cool, and therefor gives them permission to drive like idiots. 1) You’re not cool, you look like a moron. You’re not impressing anyone. 2) Please drive NORMALLY. PLEASE! You do not have special permissions to tailgate me, and drive 20+ over the speed limit! 3) Turn down the music! When I’m driving my younger sister around, I don’t want her to hear your music’s profanities, even when my windows are rolled up! Sorry everyone, I don’t want to offend anyone.

mb5191 - I think that you’ll mostly find that you’re preaching to the choir.

Yea, You’re probably right. I just had to say it anyway.

I don’t hate it, I just think its funny and stupid. Laugh at them as they go by.

“I drive my parents’ older '02 Accord?” What’s so old about an '02?

You’re lucky to have such a nice car to drive.

You can tell a persons IQ by what their car looks and sounds like…This applies to motorcycles too…I find this quite handy when making snap-judgments about people!

When you’re 18, 2002 is a loooong time ago.

Almost half of their life!!!

Hey it’s OK to be wacky and 18. We could do without the dangerous driving and noise. But having been there and done that, it goes with the territory. Most guys on this site did the wacky and 18 thing. If they say they didn’t, they lie. Good thing is they soon grow out of it. Bad thing is the 17s take their place and life goes on.