Talented, trustworthy Mercedes Mechanic in San Francisco

Hi, hoping someone can help me. My grandmother-in-law has a1986 Mercedes 500SL which has been stalling on her mid drive. She’s had it “fixed” twice already but the problem remains. The car has sentimental value to her and she would love to be able to drive it again but the thought of it stalling and not starting again scares her. Does anyone happen to have a talented, trustworthy Mercedes mechanic in San Francisco? Someone who specializes in classic Mercedes would be ideal. Thank you.

The web is your friend . And if you really want this fixed then a local dealer might be the best choice . I don’t think any of the regulars on this site live in San Francisco or have a Mercedes . Search the web for a Mercedes club near you as a start.

I cannot help you with references in the SF area and I am NOT a Benz expert.

However, I’m near 100% certain this vehicle has CIS fuel injection which I am very familiar with due to experience on other Euro cars which used the same system. There’s also another phrase for CIS but since this is a family friendly forum…

The most likely cause for intermittent stalling is a worn fuel pump. Those can be intermittent and the failure is likely due to a badly worn commutator on the pump armature.
These pumps run at considerably higher fuel pressures than a “normal” fuel injection system so that is an underlying reason for pump failures.
Hope that helps in some way.

2 Likes

You might check on an SL forum for their recommendations, also Yelp and Google, search for Mercedes mechanics.

Here’s one forum (MB enthusiasts refer to it by its internal MB model, R107).
https://mbworld.org/forums/sl-slc-class-r107-62/

But I bet @ok4450 is right.

There’s a “repair shops” link at the top of this page, try clicking there.