SUV Hybrids, yes/no

Hi All,

Going to be looking into a new SUV, and may jump on the Hybrid Bandwagon.

I have a few concerns

1) I have some knowledge about keeping up maintanence on my own cars. And am not sure if I will be able to do the same on a hybrid. Tune-ups, brakes, fluid changes. Basic small stuff. I would not be doing engine overhauls or anything like that.

2) With a hybrid is there any maintanence that may not be on a regualr vehicle?

3) I still feel that the hybrid models are a little to new and their reliabilty may not be fully proven, any thoughts on that?

The two vehicles I have in mind at the moment are:

2008 Mercury Mariner

2008 Ford Escape All Wheel Drive

Thanks for any assistance!

CaptK

We just got a Toyota Highlander Hybrid and love it. The maintenance schedule is the same as for a regular Highlander. Standard warranty covers the hybrid system for 8 years or 100K mi.

I own a SUV…and to me a Hybrid SUV doesn’t make sense. I guess it does if all you do is use it as basic transportation. But if you use it to Haul things or Tow like I do then you negate any mileage gains you get from a Hybrid.

The Turbo Diesels that are sold in the Europe make a lot more sense. You have more torque and the same or better hp with much better gas mileage.

Why would hauling things make “hybrid” not useful?

I would not expect there to be much difference in cost of maintenance between the two types. You should be aware that while both standard and hybrid models have over estimated mileage numbers on the sticker, the hybrid’s numbers are doubly high. The published numbers for the 2008 models will be closer and lower.

While the hybrid is OT a bad idea, it has yet to really do much and even with tax advantages they are not really saving any life cycle cost.

Why would hauling things make “hybrid” not useful?