Suggestions for type of car to purchase

I am in outside sales in Calif. Here’s my list: comfort, easy to get in and out of the car, fuel economy, would like a hatchback for easy access and transport of my samples. I have been driving a '94 camry for the last 11 years. My average is 18K/miles year. I seriously considering a Subaru outback. It is easy to get in and out of, the seats are comfortable and it has a lift back. I think the biggest downside is that the mileage isn’t great.

I also like the idea of a car I’d want to use on weekends some fun trips. I have a dog-any opinions on leather care and maintenance-it does get hot in the Summer where I live. (The sunroof option only comes w/ the leather so any opinions on sunrooves.) This is my first new car-I’ve had 5 used ones which I kept a long time:a celica, 2 vw bugs, a honda accord and the camry.

THANK-YOU

Depending on the size of your dog, it may be very hard on the leather seats. You will probably want to keep the dog’s seat covered with an old carpet scrap or something.

Consider the openness of a hatchback or wagon. Are your samples something that you need to keep hidden? Do you REALLY need the AWD of a Subaru? Don’t get me wrong, I like 'em, but fail to see the necessity for most folks.

Thank-you for your response. Could you suggest another car(s) to research.

The Nissan Versa hatchback, Scion xA, Toyota Matrix (or Pontiac Vibe), Honda Fit. The Versa, I think, is the most comfortable of the bunch.
elcuc0

I own a 2003 Pontiac Vibe and it is truly a great car, I love it. The Vibe and Toyota Matrix are the same car so you even get to choose which body style you like better. Under the skin the Vibe is a Toyota, so no worries about reliably. In my opinion this car is the perfect combination of versatility, fuel economy and quality.

IMHO all these cars will be a serious let down after owning a Camry (even 11 year old gyration). They are decent run abouts but not the comfort you need for 18k mile/year.