Please suggest a car for me - downsizing from huge truck and divorcing!

Hello! I currently drive a very large and very tall 4-door, manual transmission Dodge pickup. It was a great vehicle when I was a stay-at-home mom carting around baby gear and 2 big dogs (100+ lbs!). Fast forward to today and I’m down to one booster, two bigger kiddos (6y and 9y), no dogs, and commuting 40 miles (r/t) each day to work where I’m a sr. director at a hi-tech firm, and husband-free. My truck is so tall I can’t fit in any parking garage unless it allows commercial vehicles & forget about zipping into Boston for a day of fun. And it’s costing me ~$400 per month to keep the tank full at 12mpg, if I’m lucky.

I’m looking to get a car and am overwhelmed with choices. Here are my requirements - AWD (I’m a nervous snow driver and my driveway is steep), very safe, better than 12mpg, and have some degree of sporty/sexiness (although I think I’d prefer a 4DR sedan) - and one that will fit in a parking garage w/out coming close to scraping the ceiling. I’ve been looking at off-lease, used Audi 4s, BMW 3 and 5 series. I don’t want to spend more than about $28k. While I’m considering sensible, too, (the Honda/Camry route), I’m at a point in my life where I’d like to find a balance between practical (safe for kids and spacious for some gear) and fun (excellent acceleration for merging onto the highway) and appealing/interesting to look at. And if it helps, i’m in my mid-40s. :slight_smile: Many thanks in advance!

I really like my Subary Legacy.
6 cylinder, five speed automatic that you can manually shift up/down, AWD. It wasn’t anywhere near Audi in price but has many similar options with lower maintenance cost and higher reliability (imo).
It is hard to beat in New England winters but it is even fun to drive on a sunny day on curvy roads with the sunroof open. I think it comes pretty close to my old Saab 900 turbo in performance and drive ability.