Subaru still overheats after repairs - worth more work?

Hello everybody!

I have some trouble with my beloved 2006 Subaru Forester and hope you can help me make a smart decision:
Two months ago, out of nowhere, the car started overheating. (Maybe not completely out of nowhere, because my father came to visit me and decided the car needed more coolant and filled the whole overflow tank. But we think this is not causality, but just coincidence.)
While I am new to Subarus, I am great at googling, and self-diagnosed it would be either (and hopefully) the thermostat, or a blown head gasket, apperently a common breaking point.

The very friendly and well-reviewed mechanic had a good look at it and told me the radiator was leaking, and if I wanted to fix it, it would be sensible to also replace the thermostat and timing belt.
Asked whether it was worth it he kept the car for another three days to give it a thorough assessment and told me afterwards, yes, the car is in a really good condition, go for it. 900$ seemed to be a fair price.

The first few days on short trips the Subaru did not overheat. I was so happy. I was so glad to take it for a long drive. Unfortunately, after two hours of driving in the summer heat with some stop-and-go-traffic, all of a sudden the temperature display went from constantly in the middle to top-of-red.
I got it back home and back to the mechanic. That was three weeks ago.
The news today was: he exchanged the (new) thermostat again, he tried engine sealant, he tried another engine sealant, nothing works. He says it’s probably the head gasket and will come back to me tomorrow with an estimate.

Now, dear car talk community who has to bravely read my post this far, my questions:

1. Can he be sure it is the head gasket now?
  2. Is it common that a mechanic first repairs the radiator and thermostat (and timing belt) before realising the car’s problem is its head gasket?