Subaru retierment

We have a 2004 V6 Subaru Outback with 147k miles on it. It has just started to leak oil from a head gasket (drips on exhaust header and stinks). Our mechanic says it’s minor and if you can live with the smell don’t worry-I question this. My question is do we fix it or get rid of it as is and buy something else?

Are you sure the leak is from a head gasket and not from a valve cover gasket?

according to my mechanic.

$3,000 repair bill

Ouch. I’m not a Subaru expert, but if I were you I’d ask if simply retorquing the head bolts might be a possible solution. Certainly less expensive than pulling the head(s).

I’d get another opinion on this and in the event that the problem is a weeping head gasket instead of a leaking valve cover, etc. then I’d have the head bolts retorqued and see what happens. A 3 grand repair on a car with 147k miles, no way.

The reason head bolt retorque is not mentioned is that many, including mechanics, think it’s not necessary or can’t be done. That would be incorrect.

I have to assume that the OP has an Outback with the H-6 engine as Subaru does not make an engine in a V configuration. That being said, while some H-4 Subarus have a tendency toward head gasket leaks, the H-6 design is not prone to that problem.

As was said, it is much more likely that the valve cover gaskets are leaking oil, rather than the head gaskets. In fact, I had to tighten the bolts for the valve covers on my '02 H-6 Outback because there was oil leaking onto the exhaust manifolds on both sides. Does that sound familiar? Incidentally, simply retorqueing those bolts resolved the oil leak.