Subaru Head Gasket - what else is new.... :)

So, I have a 2002 Subaru Outback.

A couple years ago I started smelling an odor from the engine. I brought it to the dealer and they said the gaskets were leaking (or valves- something like that - i’m not a mechanic).

I brought it to another mechanic for a second opinion and they said nothing was leaking. So I continued to drive it.

In the meantime, I’m noticing that the car would hiccup (slow down and then go faster) on occasion. Eventually it just stopped on the freeway and coasted to a stop.

A mechanic replaced the valves, timing belt, etc. (for only $890 - great deal). The odor went away and the hiccupping stopped.

So, fast forward two years. I’m feeling the same hiccuping begin to occur, the smell is back and the car drives rough.

Brought it to the dealer and they said they didn’t smell anything and just change the spark plug wires.

Brought it to another mechanic for a second opinion. He said there was a small leak in the head gasket but it is nothing to worry about. He agreed with changing the spark plugs which he did.

I indicated to this dealer that the scenario feels very familiar to the first head gasket failing and I’m afraid if I ignore the leaking head gasket that the car will eventually stall out on the freeway again.

He indicated to me that he felt the first time this happened, it was not due to the leaking head gasket but that the timing belt broke on the freeway and that is what ruined the valves. But what confuses me is that the hiccupping and the smell went away after the new head gasket.

Since the most recent repair of the wires, the car runs a bit smoother but not all the way.

Next morning after the new wires are installed, the engines runs incredibly rough and the check engine light goes on. Diagnostics indicated it was a cylinder - he tightened the wires and everything was fine.