Subaru Forester 2007 -- Valve Cover or Head Gasket Leak?

Hi All,

First time poster here – I’m also a complete novice with cars! Just got my oil changed at a garage in Boulder, and they noticed that my coolant reservoir was really full, but they’re unsure whether or not my valve cover or my head gaskets are leaking. The reservoir was reset; the mechanic advised that I drive back to Denver (~30 miles). If the level had risen once I got back to Denver, she said that I may or may not have a head gasket issue.

I’m the third owner of the vehicle, has 130K, and the head gaskets were replaced when I bought the car (approx. 1 year ago). The radiator busted over the winter, so that is also brand new.

The question: Is there any way to tell if this is a Valve Cover or Head Gasket issue without taking it into a shop? And what should I be doing/monitoring in the mean time? I will have to drive this back out to CA next summer, so I need this thing to last!

Thanks all!
Ryan

Easy, valve cover gasket has nothing to do with coolant reservoir. Step 2 find a better mechanic. Keep an eye on coolant level and if your oil looks like anything but oil stop driving it and see if who ever did the head gasket will warranty the work.

When the engine is cold, remove the radiator cap.

Check the coolant level. If the coolant level is low add coolant.

Start the engine and as the engine idles watch the coolant in the radiator.

If bubbles begin to appear in the coolant as the engine idles, that’s an indication of a leaking head gasket.

Tester

Good ideas above.

When the radiator burst the last time, did you notice if the engine overheated? If so, that can compromise the head gasket. If you decide to visit a shop for a proper diagnosis, be sure to tell your mechanic about that incident.

It’s possible of course there’s nothing wrong, just someone over-filled the cooling system at some point. That’s easy enough to rectify. Besides the ideas posted above, ask your mechanic to check for