Subaru Forester 06 - fuel delivery problems

My 06 Subaru (stick) has works just fine until someone else drives it. (Won’t say who!) After that guy, whose foot is somewhat leaden, drives it, I with the light foot find the car stalls, is slow to catch, and stalls. 4 times, I have taken it to the dealer mechanic and he fixed it just fine until…

So, the first time, mechanic said it was a fluke. The 2nd time, he said it was a design flaw. The 3rd time, he said the car will re-set itself to save fuel for a heavier footed driver. The 4th time same. It still seems like a design flaw in that it outsmarts lead-foot and then behaves like a stubborn donkey when light-foot drives. If it is a design feature, is there a way to get rid of the feature (much like people took off the early smog devices)? The two other options are not ok by me. Those are: get rid of the car or get rid of you-know-who. Help!

StickShiftNana

ps - I’ve been driving stick since 1964 and this feels like the first week I drove or gas in the fuel (nope- gas this time is fine)

Too many things could cause it. Broken engine mount and some features that used t go on other cars was a flaky clutch adjuster which you may not have. A clutch cable support clamp could be broken. There are more and someone else will probably post more possibilities soon.

Thank for your thoughts. I hope (and doubt) my Subaru’s stalling, lugging’balking problem is as bad as what you suggest. When the dealer mechanic fixes it, it stays fixed until the guy whose name won’t be mentioned drives it. It’s after he drives it, that the problem presents again. I yearn for a more durable fix. I’m still looking for ideas to get the dealer to replace the parts that try to outsmart a lead-footed driver. The car goes in soon.

stickshiftnana

Can’t say as I’m impressed with the things you’ve been told.