Struts & 250k Maintenance, 02 Rav4

Hi there,
A buddy and I are prepping to do a bunch of work on my 2002 Toyota Rav4. She is 249,911 miles young, and at LEAST 1/3 of that has been offroad driving on beaches, mountains, and plains (I’m a field biologist). As you can imagine, she is rusty. All rusty. ALL. Just everything, rusty. Except for the new crossmember. I had a Florida mechanic tell me 10 years and 150k miles ago it was too rusty to be safe. I guess we showed him.

So my struts are pretty tired, and the truck is so old and semi-retired, and CO doesn’t have inspections, so we’re happy to “DIY” and learn. I’ve never done struts before. So my questions are:

1. Kind of a dumb question, but if I order a strut kit, that does have everything I need for the job, right? Any seals… etc. that might be old and break after I start?

2. Is there anything else I may as well replace while I’m at that? We’re doing the brakes at the same time. I have some $ for this project now, wondering what cars this age commonly need replaced. What did you need to replace on your 'Yota?

Thanks for all pointers! Happy Trails!

1. not likely, but it’s impossible to tell without seeing the “kit” you hope to order. I’ve never seen one come with upper mounts, bushings, dust bellows, bumper stops, and certainly never with the necessary tools including spring clamps. And none of them come with an alignment machine.

Oh, and wait’ll you try to get those lower bolts off with your 5" ratchet. Not possible. They’re installation torque will have been about 178 ft/lbs new, and breakaway torque is typically somewhere about two to 2-1/2 times installation torque… not counting the rust.

I’ve attached a link that shows the “exploded view” drawing of the parts.
http://www.toyotapartsoverstock.com/default.aspx

My recommendation would be to go shopping for a replacement vehicle. If you do decide to repair this rusted hulk, I’d suggest leaving the job to a shop.