Stripped spark plug hole

I have a 1999 Ford E-250 Van that I use for work. I’m a painter. Recently one of the spark plugs came loose while I was driving. While trying to replace the spark plug myself, I discovered that the threads in the hole were stripped. I have found a couple of repair shops that say they can do it. They both say they can rethread the hole without removing the head and the price is something I am very much willing to pay. The problem is that I’m hearing them say that they can do it but they can’t say for sure that it will work. I think I’m gonna end up paying about $650. I really want to know my chances of this working. Its a good van other than this particular problem. Has anyone had success with this kind of repair? Anyone know of a place that will actually back their work up and put me at ease?

Carquest auto parts sells a kit [similar to heli coils] that contains a 2 stage tap and inserts for the hole. You must use a grease on the tap to collect the metal shavings that come off and clean it regularly during the process. It is pretty well a permanent process. The cost depending on your area labor rates should be around $200.00
I would call around to a few different places for prices.
On this web site click at the top of the page - actual car information. scroll down about 1/2 way on the right you will see a place [mechanics files]to look for a repair shop. enter your zip code to locate some near you
good luck

I’ve done a bunch of stripped or blown out spark plug thread repairs and the repair makes the spark plug hole much stronger than it ever was to begin with.

I remember when the VW flat 4 was popular in some racing classes and a lot of guys would drill out perfectly good spark plug holes and put heli-coils in all cylinders. The steel threads made changing plugs at the track so much easier.

i’ll bet o’rileys will have an answer for you, do not pay to o much, it is a simple fix