Strange 2015 Impala, went on its own

Hi everyone, a newbie here, with a question and a concern.
I have 2015 Impala, with 3000 miles, I have it for two months, purchased brand new from a dealership just recently.
Two weeks ago I parked it on the side of the road, across my gated property so I could open the gate. I did not shut the motor off, I put it in park, and notice in the back of my mind that the car did not set up like it usually does when put in park, but since it never happened before, I did not pay much attention, it was just a quick note in the back of my mind. I got off the car, shut the door, cross the street and opened one side of the gate, then I noticed a motion and saw my car slowly moving away from me. The tree stopped it in about 300 feet, damaging neighbor’s fence. I ran to the car, opened door, the shift stick was not in park. I put it in park and shut the motor off, took out the keys and called my husband and police. The after all was reported (wit me having no explanation what exactly happened), my husband asked me for the key, got into the car and said - the shift is on Neutral, you did not put it in park! I said, no way it is on neutral, I just put it in park and TOOK the key off. He said, well I just shifted it in park to be able to start it.
OK I am sorry, i might explain it awkwardly, but the question is- how shift moved by itself twice, to neutral. And- is it SAFE to drive it at all. Thank you

I can’t answer your question, but I will say that I absolutely never leave a running car in Park without also applying the parking brake as a backup. I suggest that you get in that habit as well.