Storing vehicle in winter

Hi I would like information on how I should store my 2006 ford ranger for 3 or 4 winter months. I am in N Dakota - gets 20 to 30 below for days. I am a disabled service connected veteran and it is hard to get out when it is snowy and cold to start unit -in unheated garage about 50 meters from apt.

I have a “trickle charger” for the battery and a tank heater to warm oil. I have been in ND many winters but was working and had to start vehicle every morning, am now in wheelchair and worried what I should do to keep the Ranger in good shape for spring.

Thanks for your response. jon

The first thing to do is add a fuel stabilizer to a full tank of gas and drive the vehicle for a short distance. When the vehicle is in it’s parking spot remove the battery and bring it inside. You can then use the trickle charger to keep the battery maintained.

Then you want to get some stainless steel wool and cramp this into the tail pipe and into the intake duct before the air filter. This will prevent critters from getting into these areas a building nests. Stainless steel pot scrubbers work good for this.

Then place some dryer sheets in the interior of the vehicle. Critters don’t like the odor these give off so they stay out of the interior. Then crack the side windows open slightly.

That should be about it for the amount of time the vehicle is going to be parked.

Tester

I would only add that if you are close to an oil change do it now.

Invest in a block heater, I will serve you much better. As said previously stabil, and maybe it is less important now than it used to be but store it with a full tank of gas to prevent condensation. You might consider parking the car with the nose facing east to keep the snirt from filling up your engine compartment.