Starving for oil?

Hey guys. My 2000 Lexus GS 400 (4.0L V8) has been worrying me lately. It has 226,000 miles and still runs great. My concern is that on occasion when I go to crank the car after it has been sitting for a day or two- usually over the weekend, the engine sounds really rough when starting. Almost like a lower end clank noise. I am not a mechanic, but to me it sounds like the lower end of the engine is starving for oil.
It does burn oil (smoke at cold start up)so I try to ensure it always has enough oil. This morning it made that same clanking noise. I check the oil level and it was right at the minimum level. I went ahead and added a quart and after cranking it back up the sound went away.

Can any of you more experienced guys get me started on the right direction to fix this? I don’t want to put too much money in the car because it is not worth much as is, but I do want it to last me at least another year. Besides this issue- the engine is always chugging along like normal and very quiet.

Thank you in advance!
Frankie

Run it until it blows!

That answer is a bit harsh but with 226K on the engine, it is pretty likely what you are experiencing is excessive oil clearance in the bearings for both rods and crankshaft main bearings. Add a worn oil pump to that and you will get a rattle upon startup until oil pressure builds up. To replace them at this point would be very expensive. Basically a new engine or a rebuilt one.

That said, keep a sharp eye on oil level. Check it as every gas fill-up. Carry a couple of quarts with you. Use the thickest oil Lexus recommends for this car. If they recommend 5w30 OR 10w30, choose the 10w30. You should get some more life from the car - impossible to say how much - but save your dollars, this one’s one the way out.