Starting on Hills with Manual Transmission: using E-brake or clutch/gas only?

I’m a novice at manual driving, and I learned to drive in San Francisco. On hills, I know it’s bad to hold your car in place by letting out the clutch half way…I was taught to use the parking brake to keep the car in place while accelerating the car. However, many of my friends say they can start on steep hills without the E-brake and without rolling back. My question is: what is better for your car? If you become very adept at starting using clutch and gas only, are you still wearing your clutch out because of the sudden load on the vehicle due to gravity, and should the E-brake be used only as a learning tool? We’re not talking easy rolling hills, we’re talking serious incline…like hills in SF with a 30% grade.

Plus if you use the e-brake method, are you just wearing out the e-brake system?

What is the optimal method to use?

I’m inclined to suggest becoming proficient with the gas/clutch “dance”, but I have to confess to never having lived in this type of terrain. My guess is that most of us haven’t, so while you’ll get lots of well meaning thoughts those who’ve actually lived there are the best reference.

Sorry.

I’ve always been very good at the gas/clutch dance, but for steeper hills my own preference has always been for using the parking brake in order to reduce clutch abuse. (Brakes are a lot cheaper).

If you are new to the clutch it is also probably safer since you are more likely to avoid roll back and less likely to stall it out.

Use the e-brake. It’s so much easier and surer. Don’t worry about wearing out brake parts; usually the e-brake shoes last forever… and they are easier and cheaper to replace than a clutch. As for the clutch itsllf, a San Francisco clutch will always wear out faster than a Kansas clutch no matter how you handle the hills. It can’t be helped. The e-brake method will extend the clutch’s life.