Beginner at Manual transmission

Hi, I recently bought my second car a manual transmission 2006 mustang. My first car was a automatic and I recently switched to manual because I always wanted to learn how to drive one. THis is my 3rd week driving it and I’m kind of getting used to driving on the road and I’m getting a feel of the clutch but when I’m at a light and I start in first gear I still use up a good 2-3 seconds of gas before my clutch engages any tips on how to avoid burning the gas? I’ve stalled at light and just learned to put a hand in the air wave sorry and get moving. Also when I’m shifting very now and then it’ll rev before changing from 2nd to 3rd or so on. My clutch is fine I had a good friend of mine drive it he said it’s because I’m a beginner, any advice? Thanks a lot guys.

Practice in an empty parking lot trying to start from a dead stop without touching the gas pedal and without stalling, by letting the clutch out gradually in first gear. But don’t touch the gas pedal. Do this repeatedly until you can do it smoothly without stalling.

Once you can do that, then practice the same thing with adding gas gently as you let the clutch out.

Here is what Tom and Ray have to offer.

Sound like you are in the learning curve and progressing well. Keep working on finding the optimum clutch engagement point with the right amount of gas to reduce the time spent slipping the clutch.

I’ll add a tip, make absolutely certain you don’t rest your foot on the clutch pedal while you drive. It will wear out the clutch very quickly. A friend of mine found that out the hard way on his first manual.

Congratulation on becoming a member of an increasingly elite club; People Who Can Drive a Manual Transmission! (We should get an internet forum, the oil guys have one, we should, too!)

As noted practice your starts in a lot. You don’t want to burn out your clutch, which is easy to do if you’re slipping it a lot at every start.