Starter rebuild kit - asking for trouble?

I have a 2005 Town and Country with about 120K. Recently, and more frequently, upon turning the key, there is a single rather loud click. Sometimes, the starter engages in the next turn of the key but occasionally 5 or 6 are required. I’ve cleaned the connections and the battery is strong. So, I have deduced that the starter is likely the problem.

A rebuilt part is $130-$150; a new aftermarket starter is in the $160 range. Starter rebuild kits are $30, plus/minus a few bucks. I’ve never done anything but change starters before. Am I asking for trouble attempting a DIY rebuild?

How much is your time worth if you end up having to pull the starter again, if the rebuild doesn’t solve the problem? If the starter’s a major pain to remove, then I’d only want to do it once. If it’s easy, then sure, give it a shot.

1 Like

I think it depends what’s in the kit. Likely just brushes and bearings. I think your lroblem is in the solenoid though so buy a new one and do the rebuild kit and hope for the best. It’ll be better than a rebuild from az.

I’ve never done it myself, but I’d guess there’s an excellent chance for complete success for an intrepid diy’er. Especially if all that’s involved is replacing the solenoid contacts, and perhaps the motor brushes, and cleaning the armature contact surfaces. . On some Ford starters there may be a final drive assembly that’s also probably replaced. Replacing the starter motor’s bearings would be more challenging, but still diy’er doable if you have the required tools.

I have my Corolla’s prior Toyota starter motor sitting on a shelf, and intend to rebuild it using a kit, so I’ll be looking forward to you letting us know how it goes.