Starter confusion

I’m an amateur struggling with the starter of my car. I drive a 1998 VW New Beetle, TDI with a manual transmission. The battery died in a cold spell in December and stayed dead until I finally got a jump late January. But ever since then, the starter’s been acting up. Now it’s to the point where it just plain won’t try to start. I step on the clutch and crank the key, but I don’t even hear a repeated “tic”–nothing whatsoever. It has no problem starting when I push it and pop the clutch, though.

I dug out the starter and brought it to AutoZone…worked perfectly on their bench, three times. I put it back in my car, and it worked perfectly–once. Now we’re back to hearing nothing whatsoever…

My best thought is maybe it doesn’t recognize that the clutch is all the way out?

If it helps, I live in a cold, wet place so the car is constantly moist and freeze/thawing.

My best guess, via cyberspace, is that the clutch’s safety switch has gone bad, but the possibility of electrical problems with a 22 year old VW is… remote.
(Sarcasm is intentional)

4 Likes

Start at the battery and check the cable’s both end’s for a clean tight connection nextcheck the clutch safety switch for tight connection’s or out of adjustment.

1 Like

Thanks so much! How do I get down to the clutch safety switch? Can it be done from the interior of the car, or will I have to move stuff around under the hood?

I don’t know where your’s is but on my ford truck it is at the base clutch arm on the interior.

Your weak battery probably damaged the starter solenoid contacts. You should have replaced the starter, bench testing is a waste of time with intermittent starter problems. Test the starter in the vehicle, see if it has 12 volts tat the cable and solenoid connector when the ignition is in the start position.

1 Like