Start Up Engine Shake

Hello Forum,

I own a 2002 Nissan Altima and whenever i start my car i feel that the engine is shaking(Vibrates a lot) and also sometimes while i am driving and i stop at red light or something it makes the whole car shake.

I have a service engine sign on and i got it checked and it was the Catalytic Converter code.

Is it due to that ??

Or it might be due to the cold temperature and less heating the engine i start first time??

I just want to know what the problem might before going to take it to the garage.

Thanks So much

PS : This is my first time :slight_smile: :wink:

It might be the oxygen sensor.
It might also (and I emphasize ALSO) be long overdue for a new set of sparkplugs. Are these the originals? When was the last time you had a tuneup with filters?

Most likely the engine is missing, causing the vibration while driving and especially at low speeds or at idle. The code indicating the catalyic means that either the engine is running very rich or that (as was already suggested) an oxygen sensor had failed.

If the engine is running too rich, there should be evidence of this in the tailpipe. With the car cool, swipe a finger into the tailpipe and see if you have a dry, heavy black residue left on your finger. This would indicate that the engine has been running very rich - which means it has not been burning fuel anywhere near as efficiently as it should. The cause for this could be a lot of things, from leaking fuel injectors to insufficient spark.
I hope more experienced people will weigh in on this problem for you. There are a lot of very smart people on this site. GL

@the same mountainbike
Thanks for reply
Yes the mechanic was telling last time that it might be oxygen sensors and i dont think the spark plugs have been replaced (they r the originals) and didnt had a tune up as got this car a year ago

@kizwiki
Thanks for reply
I did swipe my finger into the tail pipe and found black residue (attaching a picture)