Spare tire diameter

My spare is 22". Regular is 26". Manual sez if u have front flat, to move good rear tire to front and put spare on rear. Since car is fwd FYI. To save tearing up differential? Does the manufacturer expect owner to swap 2 diff tires frt/back on side of road? Or call tow truck? How far could I drive with a 22/26 combo on drive axle?

Manual sez if u have front flat, to move good rear tire to front and put spare on rear.

Obviously the manufacturer expects you to swap front to rear if needed, it says so in the manual.

What kind of car is this? This is the first I’ve heard of such a setup.

I’m no expert, so this is a wild guess, but I wouldn’t drive more than a mile (at low speed) with the spare on the front.

I wonder if you could find a larger spare tire that matches the regular tires and mounts properly. Of course, it may not fit in the storage space for the current spare tire.

This does sound like an annoying situation, but I guess the smaller spare tire does save a bit of weight and trunk space.

Big GM car. U can get a full size spare but than u have to put up with odd bump up spare cover in trunk. I have seen other fwd cars with mini spares on road. I always assumed their diff was howling in protest.

Typical; storage space and sales take a back seat to safety. Many mini spares are narrower for for space savings but have the same radius and circumference. Take measurements in the spare tire storage area and see it a larger overall diameter tire the same as your car tires, but with the same width as the original spare, can fit .

Mini spares, also called temporary spares, are meant to get you to a repair station. If one were less than 5 miles away, I’d go for it (slowly). Much more than that, and I’d stick it on the back.
Besides, most flats are back there anyway!

I’m so glad my car has a full size spare tire on a regular rim

I’ve also seen cars with full size spares on limited use rims