Smelling oil after hauling my boat

I have a ‘96 Explorer XLT with 130M that I put a hitch on when I got it last summer, and have hauled my 19’ boat (slowly - I’m a newbie)upcape 26 miles and back. I noticed when exiting the car after each trip a smell of oil; or transmission fluid? Now that I think of it, I have smelled the same when airing up after coming off the beach. Fluid levels and operation of transmission seem normal. What should I be looking for, or should I just turn wait until something fails? No oil spots on the ground, either…

I would be concerned about a possible transmission overheating problem. An Explorer is really not designed to haul much of a load. When you DO haul a load like that, it’s not uncommon to need a transmission cooler added. This will help it deal with the extra work it’s doing to haul, otherwise you can burn up a trans real quick.

…so a 1500 lb boat or a drive on the beach (also slowly) in 4wd is too much for it, it sounds like…I’m sensitive enough to machines that I don’t think I’m abusing it. And the bearings and tire on the trailer are new, so it must just be that it’s not made to actually do what it looks like it’s built for. How else can I tell the transmission is overheating? Thanks for your response to this, it’s kind of a bummer but it’s helpful I had a '91 Trooper that I wasn’t nearly so careful about because it was so old and rusty, and it just kept on going in spite of actual abuse…

1500lbs is NOT too much of a load for an explorer…However WHY are you putting it in 4wd??? You run the risk of DESTROYING your transfercase if driving in 4wd on dry pavement.