Sketchy Mechanic

So, coolant somehow leaked and destroyed the engine in the used Subaru Outback 2001(about 130,000 miles) that I just recently bought. I’m new to SW Colorado and asked my aunt and uncle who have lived here 20+ years who they’d recommend for a mechanic. Since I don’t want to be specific about the mechanic just yet, I’ll just say they sent me to “Dan.” He’s been in business since 1977 and seems credible. This is my first very own vehicle so I’ve never paid too close of attention to detail when it came to mechanics, but I had a bad feeling about this place from the get-go. It’s got junk cars filling the parking lot and just doesn’t seem like a well put together place. However, the repair money is coming through my parents and it was their choice in who I went to, and they chose Dan.