Should I buy or no?

Hi! I’m new to this so bear with me. Long story short, I am recently divorced after my cheating husband walked out and left me with pretty much nothing. I am trying to make ends meet and am working 2 jobs, however my husband took our brand new Impala with him when he left. I couldn’t afford it on my own, but I really need a car. I am currently borrowing my son’s car when I can but that isn’t going to work forever. My son works with someone who is selling a 1993 Buick Park Avenue and at this point, it is about all I can afford (it will be under $1000). My son said the car is in good shape, he said there isnt much rust on the body but didnt get to look underneath it(we live in NY). It has 140,000 miles on it and has a new gas tank, sending unit, battery, radiator, brakes and ball joints. The car belonged to someones mother who took very good care of it and maintained it well. My son said it runs very well and the person he works with has had no trouble with it. My son is nervous about the idea of buying a 1993, and I am a little bit but I dont have an awful lot of choice right now. Aside from being a big boat, I thought it might not be the worst choice for me. It has leather! I thought some opinions might help me decide, so what should I do? Thanks so much everyone =-)

For less than $1,000, and considering the mileage, you should expect to drive the car for a year or so. Then, when it needs a repair that costs 50-100% of the purchase price, you have to decide whether to fix it or buy another beater. Without being able to see the car it’s hard to say much more than that.

If it’s a standard Park Avenue, OK. If it’s a Park Avenue Ultra, with the super-charged engine, say, “No, thank you.” The Ultra is a very nice car, but you don’t want the repair bills associated with a super-charged engine.