Serpentine belt replacement?

Hi everyone! It seems as if every time I take my car to the shop, I am nailed with a new item replacement recommendation. It wasn’t too long ago I had to change transmission fluid at 57K mileage ( car is a toyota Camry SE, 2012 model) and battery. Then today, at 58K mileage, I got the front brakes and rotors installed ( all OEM parts) and was told my serpentine belt needs to be replaced, which may be around $200 bucks.

I am starting to feel fear taking my car in as I am certain every visit is going to knock me with a bill. Sure, I understand if one wants a car he has to take care of it by maintaining it properly. But I am curious as to know if maintenance on a car is frequent ? I am a novice to cars like I explained in my previous posts, and I live on very limited funds. And sadly, I can’t do without a car ( will avoid going into personal details at this time.)

What is a serpentine belt? And how often does it need to be replaced? Thanks for taking your time to respond. Much appreciated.

1 Like

#1 Serpentine belts do need replacing over time…but 5 years and 58k miles is way too soon.

#2 $200 is awfully expensive.

Do yourself a favor and find a different mechanic. Preferably a good independent.

1 Like

It drives the air conditioner compressor , the alternator and possibly the water pump. Why did you not have them show you the belt ? Your manual should have a miles / time period for the belt. You are out of warranty so that belt can be changed by any shop.

1 Like

A serpentine belt operates all the components mounted to the front of the engine. Power steering pump, alternator, AC compressor, etc.

http://blog.firestonecompleteautocare.com/maintenance/your-cars-serpentine-belt/

How was it determined that the serpentine required replacement?

Tester