Sell it and buy something else, or keep on fixing it?

I have a 2002 Chevy S10 ZR-2 4X4 pickup with 116,000 miles.

I am the third owner, I bought it 3.5 years ago with 58,000 miles on it. The truck is fully paid off.

I take care of my vehicles. I am an avid weekend mechanic, but I’m never too proud to admit when a problem is too big for me to handle.

After an extended hiatus, I have decided to return to graduate school… I can no longer claim to be rich in time nor money.

Once this truck hit 100,000 miles (about 1 year ago), a number of issues started to pop up:

1- encoder motor needed to be replaced ($1,200)

2- transmission was replaced (almost $2,000)

3- plastic housing of radiator cracked… replaced radiator ($250 in parts )

4- sway bar/suspension/alignment issue, resulting in destroyed tire ($800)

5- starter motor replaced ($285 in parts/towing/parking ticket)

6- headlight leaked & burned out bulb wiring harness ($110 in parts)

… needless to say, I have spent OVER $4500 and A LOT of time this year in keeping this truck running…

Alas, I am once again having transmission and/or transfer case issues. The transmission is still under warranty, so my level of concern isn’t through the roof for this round, but my confidence in this truck is definitely waning.

I don’t have the money to keep fixing this truck. I feel that either:

1- the quality of this truck is deplorable

--or–

2- one of the previous owners beat the tar out of it

SO… my question is:

1- Should I trade the truck in (I don’t have the heart to sell it privately) (trade in value is around $5000), buy a cheap beater, and set the balance aside for the inevitable problems that will arise with the new vehicle

--or–

2- Should I keep the truck, pray that nothing else will go wrong and beg/borrow/cheat/ebay random household objects to pay for it when things do go wrong.