Did mechanic ruin my AC compressor

I took my car - 2015 Nissan Altima, 33000 miles, to a licensed AC mechanic last week because I was having cooling issues at idle, not any other times and temperature seemed normal at regular speeds. I called around to several mechanics and they suggested it could be an issue with the fan relay and a friend of mine suggested I take it to his mechanic and get it looked at as my regular mechanic couldn’t get to me for a few weeks. I did and the kid that was there suggested it may be a leak somewhere. He hooked it up to a system and said I was low on refrigerant, saying my model (according to the sticker on the hood) needs 2 lbs (I now know the hood says 1.16 lbs) He wanted to do a flush to see where the leak might be. I’m not a mechanic and I trusted him and he did it, although he never did find a leak, or he didn’t tell me I had one. And then his dad (the licensed hvac mechanic) came in about an hour after this kid had been working on my system, and asked me what the problem was and he even suggested it was the fan relay…but his kid was flushing my system because I had a supposed leak. His dad suggested I come back in the morning to get the fan relay done and I left without a working system because they had drained the refrigerant. The next day I dropped my car off and went to get it 8 hours later and they told me I needed a new compressor. It’s blowing cool-warm at best, albeit consistently because the fan relay needed reconnecting all along and they did do that. I took it to another mechanic to have the system checked out and they told me I had 1.40 lbs of refrigerant in (slightly higher than needed) and that the compressor is not generating enough air flow going out… and that I have a leaking shaft seal.

I’m so frustrated because I did have cool air before but now it’s not and I need a new compressor. Could the mechanic have ruined this?