Saturn Aura 09 V6: would it be a good option for family car?

Hello everyone, I’m looking to buy a Saturn Aura 2009 V6. I’m a student and so buying this for my family use. I need to know if this would be an economic option based on mileage repair etc. Any opinion is welcome

Who knows ? It is a 11 year old discontinued vehicle brand . It could run 5 years or 5 days . The standard reply here is to pay a shop to inspect it for current problems as no one can predict future problems .

1 Like

It could be, depending on condition. If it is in good condition, test drive it. If you still like it, get a prepurchase inspection for about $125 to see what it needs. Only use a mechanic you trust for this. You might also look into whether parts are available. It shares some parts with the Chevy Malibu, so a fair amount of parts should be available. One of the professional mechanics that show up here can give you a better ide of parts availability.

Depends on how many miles. Also on how the maintenance was on the vehicle. Something to keep in mind though if it got in a accident you probably would have a hard time getting it repaired as body parts would be hard to come by .

If I am not wrong, this is an Opel that Chevy/Saturn brought to US market with some changes. It is discontinued now, so as mentioned, parts will be an issue. I will check it out but would not pay much for an old car that did not sell that many and is also discontinued/obsolete.

You have it right, the other models built on this platform for the US were the Pontiac G6 and the Saab 9-3. Similar but not exactly the same as the 2008-2012 Chevy Malibu. Not sure exactly which parts were shared.

I know several owners of the SL models have had good luck with them but the Aura and others I couldn’t predict how well they will do.