Salvage yard stories

I recall going to the boneyard as a small kid with my dad often. I learned quite a bit about cars but just going there and pulling parts off and sticking them back on. My favorite memory though was taking a flathead and peeling Cadillac emblems off of cars by them time I was a teenager I literally had a small drawer full of them. Not sure why I went for Caddy emblems Was wondering if anyone else has any good salvage yard stories?

No salvage yard stories but remember hood ornaments became flexible rather than fixed due to vandalism. Also a cause for retractable antennas

As a young driver, I recall walking through salvage yards in the '60’s and realized people got seriously hurt in those wrecks. As a dad with young learning driver’s I took my kids for a “tour” and it had a similar affect on them.

I have also seen many such wrecks in the junkyards.
One time there was a car that was almost unrecognizable, all the airbags were deployed and covered in dried blood. Yet people were busy picking parts off of it.
Another time I pulled a part off of a car which had literally been folded in half. I desperately needed the part to get my taillights working again and didn’t have the money for a new part.
Yeah, the thought has crossed my mind. People possibly died in those cars.

When I was younger I wandered through these and looked at cars that died of old age, from wrecks, fires, and other mayhem. And I knew that some people died in some of them too. It was a good place to think and reflect, as well as get parts when I was young and broke. I took a female friend to one once and we wandered around talking, looking at things, and she gathered trophies. That was about 20 years ago and we’re still friends and she still has one of the items she snagged that day.