Safety of Austin Mini

Does the size of the Austin Mini Cooper make it difficult for other drivers to see it? Does this make it more prone to collisions?

If you are refering to the Mini Cooper of today, I think it is a lot safer than the Austin 850 and the equivalent Morris 850 which were imported to this country back in 1960. Today’s mini is a lot bigger than the original version.

My dad did a lot of business with our local DeSoto/Plymouth dealer and this dealer picked up the Austin line of cars to sell. I had taken my Dad’s car to the dealer for servicing and was laughing at the size and shape of the Austin 850. The owner of the agency tossed me the keys to the Austin 850 and said, “Let’s take a ride”. This original Mini was a blast to drive. I would have purchased one on the spot except that I was a poor college student and any car was out of the question. I don’t think that the Austin 850 was as difficult for other drivers to see as the Austin Healy Sprite of that time period and I would venture to say that the Mini Cooper of today is more visible to other drivers on the road than a Mazda Miata.

You could also argue that its better handling would allow the driver to avoid accidents. Check out NHTSA crash statistics for more info. It’s better than a motorcycle.

Twotone

You could also argue that its better handling would allow the driver to avoid accidents.

I had this very thought 50 years ago when I drove an Austin 850. I thought it handled better than any other car I had driven in this time period.

With the exception of motorcycles and bicycles, I have never heard of a problem with a vehicle being difficult to see. Don’t disable the Daytime Running Lights. Pick a visible color (As I recall white was the most visible overall.)