Rusted Subframe Replacement

Took my car in because I thought the tie rod popped off again since it has twice before, but as it turns out, the subframe was so corroded from the salt and snow up in MI that a bolt that connects the tie rod (I think) went right through it. So…to replace the subframe, if I can find one used around $250 ( that’s what’s been coming up online), the body shop said it would be $6-800 total for all repairs and parts. This is a 2002 Dodge Neon with around 75,000 miles on it, so the engine is fine. I was hoping to make it last until the summer when then I can use money from my internship (I’m a grad student, meaning, I am broke) and get a new car. I checked online for what this car would sell for if it wasn’t broken and privately it’d be around $3700, to a dealer, $2500. The owner of the body shop said his “go to guy” would only pay $300. So, what would you suggest I do? Have the repairs done and sell later? Sell now and deduct the price of the repairs? I know very little about cars and given that I am a girl going into a body shop, I pretty much expect them to try to take advantage.

$3700 - That’s awfully high for a 10yo Neon.

I’d get it fixed if I were you. Not too many people are going to even look at a vehicle that doesn’t run…And Neon’s are NOT considered very popular.

From what you said I would fix it ONLY IF and this is the big if. Will the repair be safe. That means no rust were the sub frame mounts. You cant replace the car for $800. So as long as the car will be safe,fix it.

It would help if you can post a pic of the rusted area and were the sub frame mounts. I should be able to tell you from the pics if you should fix it.

Maybe the lower control arm bracket is the failing piece. If so a close inspection of the entire floor and chassis is in order.

Rod Knox is right - single parts don’t rust by themselves, you need to have the car checked out to see what else is rusted and unsafe.