Running lean/poor performance

I am a college student with a 1999 Toyota Tacoma. Couple problems. First: check engine light is on with a code of running lean. Second: when accelerating, it feels as if there is little power, or something is being restrained (I liken it to not breathing fully). Thirdly: On cold start up, RPM’s bounce at about 500 - 650, and sounds as if its about to stall. When it warms up, the RPM’s go back to normal at ~1000. I’ve changed plugs, wires, and cleaned MAF. My next thought is a bad O2 sensor. Before I drop 90 of my hard earned and very scarce dollars, I would like some confirmation. Thanks

Catalytic converter failure comes to mind, fuel pump/filter failure comes to mind. Oxygen sensor should be cheaper than these and easier to replace. If you are going to do it yourself, get a Denso or NGK brand oxygen sensor (factory recommended brands and part numbers).

Have you ever used Lucas fuel treatment?

I can confirm for you…that unless you do some troubleshooting you’re likely to keep putting new parts in fruitlessly.

My money is on the fuel pump or fuel pressure regulator. Sounds like th epoor thing is starving for fuel. Try checking the line pressure for starters.

Thanks for the replies. A mechanic told me it was the upstream O2 sensor- which I replaced. 20 miles later no check engine light, and shifting feels “tighter/smoother”, so it may have fixed one problem-so far. The problem is that now the hesitation more pronounced and the acceleration is non - existent.

To describe a little more. If I hammer the accelerator rpm’s increase, but seemingly at random rpms hold as if I let up slightly on the gas, then it might continue accelerating, then doing this again. On a throttle blip, it hesitates or bogs for a second before picking up.

Fuel filter?
I did run techron fuel injector cleaner through, not sure how helpful it was.

CHANGE the fuel filter. then have fuel pressure checked if problem persists…