Run away van

2005 Toyota Sienna, parked on a steep hill. No key in the ignition and no ebrake on. Our toddler jumps into front seat and plays around with the shifter. It pops out of park and into reverse. Chaos ensues. Wife (who is in back seat with baby) throws it into park, but van keeps on a truckin. Before she can get into frontseat and hit the brakes, they go diagonal across the street and crash into another car. Everyone is FINE. Thank you lady luck.

First off, is this a common occurrence? At the cop at the scene said it happens a lot on this particular hill.

Second - as an engineer, I really want to understand the possible point(s) of failure. My understanding is that two things must happen to engage the transmission:

• power to ignition switch
  • break pedal depressed, triggering a sensor to release the shifter

I tried to reproduce the problem again tonight (on another hill), but nothing.

Is it possible for this system to fail? Will there be signs that a mechanic can identify?

Is the safty cap missing from the emergency release access hole in the shift lever housing?

Very puzzling. My understanding is the same, at the very minimum, that the brake pedal must be pressed before it will shift out of Park. I learned this the hard way. I was driving a rental car in the Calif desert, parked for a minute, then found I couldn’t shift out of park. In themiddle of nowhere! Finally I see a little sign on the dashboard saying you have to press on the brake first. My own car is a manual, so I never hear of this until then.

Anyway, back to your case. It’s possible it wasn’t fully engaged in Park is about the only thing I can think of. Or it wasn’t in Park at all, maybe it was in D or R or neutral all along but the wheels were turned against the curb so it didn’t move; i.e. the kid didn’t shift from Park to Neutral, just turned the steering wheel.