Ruined a clutch in 30 feet?

So here’s the deal. I have a part time job as a garage attendant in a condo-co-op . Most of our residents park their own cars, but we park the cars of those without assigned stalls, visitors and guests, employees of a business in the building, and the odd resident here and there. The owner of the business in the building drives a 2004 VW Passat with a manual transmission. I’ve been driving a manual for 32 years, and my own car is a manual. My mechanic tells me the clutch in my old car is almost brand new. As for this lady’s car, I’ve parked it (and other manual transmission cars) in that garage numerous times. Well, she says I ruined it. One day she brought it in the garage, and I parked it. The clutch felt weird and soft, and I had to scoot the seat waaayyy up to engage the clutch, more than I normally do as a short person. I pulled the car up, backed it into a slot like always, pulled it forward a little to straighten it out, and slid it into place. The clutch was soft, but I was more worried about locking the keys in the car as I had done that in another car the day before. I turned it off, pulled the hand brake, and left it in gear. Like I’ve done many times.

So I get a call from work that evening. The car won’t go in gear, and the owner of the car is furious and blaming me. The car had to be towed out of the garage. It ended up at the dealer, with the owner adamantly claiming I ruined her clutch. She’s in and out of the boss’s office demanding the condo association pay for the repairs. Boss and the operations director where I work have been very supportive of me, not blaming me at all. After about 2 weeks, the VW mechanic did finally say that he found some discoloration on the clutch and that he couldn’t say that me, or the several people who tried to move it before it was towed, did at least some of the damage.